Crafting with Salt Dough

I Love Pagan Mamma’s Blog!! She has great ideas for family fun and excellent information.
The girls and I will make some salt dough skulls and other fun Samhain decorations.
Samhain Blessings. More on our Samhain celebrations later on. ❤

Ozark Pagan Mamma

Years ago I used to make goddess figurines and such with plasticized clay (like fimo or sculpey). This time around getting into crafting again, I don’t really have much of a budget for craft supplies. I also don’t like the idea of the permanence (plasticized clay is non-bio-degradable) and the artificial feel. (I don’t know if they still have them, but there used to be a warning label on the packages of some brands that said they could possibly cause cancer.)

Since I don’t have access to cheap clay, nor a kiln to fire it in, salt dough came to mind as a cheap and natural alternative. At first I thought it wouldn’t be strong and durable enough to make things to hang on the wall and last a while, but then I remembered a special recipe I had jotted down from a library book (sorry, I don’t remember the…

View original post 497 more words

Leave a Reply

