Home Learner’s Blues

Yep we Home Learner’s and Home Schooler’s get them too.

I don’t want to go back to reporting every week and fighting(yes it is true) with my 8 year old to “stop fooling around and just get done.” every day. I don’t want to spend my every waking moment wondering how I can use playing with paper dolls, Lego, fights with the other sister, the sneeze fit one just had, and so on as a learning opportunity. I don’t want to figure out the lesson plans for the week and remember every detail of an interesting conversation to report to the LC the next Tuesday.

I hate being on the computer so much.

Since we started dealing with this new school I don’t feel like the computer is ever off. I know the BC Government has changed the rules again. Everyone has to report every week. ‘Cause us Home Learner’s/Schooler’s don’t have enough to do???? HA! *snort*

I know! I know! I’m on the computer now. Only because this is supposed to be a fun thing to do. I used to have a Blog on Multiply in 2009-2011 when they stopped being a blog site. It was nice to share our Yurting Adventure with our friends and family. I prefer this over Facebook. All though FaceCrack has introduced me to some very special people in my life.

Anyways, I slowly started the girls back into the school day routine and realized none of us want to do it.  HA ha ha ha! Oh to not have to worry that we are keeping up with the school system. *eyeroll* One thing I have realized over the past 5 years of Home Education is how many of us truly use that Diploma? I sure didn’t. Every thing I was forced to learn went *POOF* I remember the thing I loved learning. Sewing, accounting, cooking, Western Civilization, women’s studies…that sort of thing. I can’t remember half the science or any of the second language or math we were required to learn. I must say our LC (learning consultant) is good at helping us figure out how to figure out things I don’t see as learning potential. I worry too much about making sure the girls are keeping up with their Public School peers. I worry that someday they may have to go back into the Public school system and not be where they should be.

We shall push forward through these back to Home Learning Blues….One way or another…hee hee.

I have been searching for a DL(Distributed Learning) school that doesn’t require weekly reporting and constant required use of a computer. HA! What a joke…:( I am more likely to find that proverbial needle in a haystack. I asked on a Facebook DL group if there was such a place. One lady said I was complaining about the reporting. Okay…Uhm, no I’m not complaining. I was “STATING” that I would prefer a place that allowed me to have less time on front of a screen. Some people just don’t understand that some of us HS so our kids don’t have to be plopped in front of a screen.My LC is learning quickly that I dislike having to be on the computer so much. I know the girls must learn to use one and all that. BUT our family prefers very limited screen time.

Tomorrow is a “school day”. Reporting in the morning and learning in the afternoon.

I will have to blog about some of the things we have done and do. But my time is up for Screen use.

Night

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

